The Most Wonderful Time of The Year

You know how people are often off around The Holidays? You know. Emotional, depressed, anxious. Domestic violence occurrences increase, suicides increase, all around violence and stress increase. Well. Based on my completely unscientific observations this past week, I think converts may have some of this offness, residual like. This past week I’ve seen some of my friends being a little jumpy, emotional and anxious. Not just anxious about filling their pantries. I think some of us converts may have some residue there.

The good news is – I think it subsides when Ramadan actually starts. I’m kind of remembering some of this from years past and although Ramadan may stress some of us out in other ways – I don’t remember any of my friends being off the same during Ramadan. Maybe because the essence of the holiday is so markedly different than the celebrations most of us grew up with it doesn’t sustain the same emotions of yonder years. In dealing with holiday depression and stress, Mental Health America suggests “Try something new. Celebrate the holidays in a new way.” Yep.

Whatever was there for me these past few days – alhumdiAllah — it’s gone. Lets’ do this! Insha Allah.

Love and Peace

3 thoughts on “The Most Wonderful Time of The Year

  1. Yeah, I suffer from stress and anxiety the week before Ramadan. I always try to do too much…getting the house and family ready for Ramadan. I guess I also get nervous because fasting is very hard for me. Then I get fussy, and songs that I haven’t heard in years start playing in my head. But alhamdulillah, as soon as nightfall hits–as soon as I hear that maghrib adhan–it all goes away. This year, I’ve figured out why this happens (or so I believe). I believe the djinn are getting their last “hurrah!” in before they are locked up! Whaddya think?

  2. subhanAllah Brooke – I actually have this all the way through. I feel just as miserable as any Christmas and huge relief when it’s all over. astaghfirullah .((

Leave a Reply

