Charity

Kind of totally cool that my Brookolie work is featured in a story on this new website focused on healing stories. Please give it a read.

Cathartic Posts

An excerpt from my work-in-progress YA novel insha’Allah, first published in Young Muslimah Magazine.

Charity

Brookollie earrings icySister, if you want to break into the market, you should do reclaimed stuff. I’m only buying this ’cause it’s for charity.” Her bracelets chink together as she rummages around in her pink sequinned bag. I check my display of handmade jewellery. Except for the necklace clasps, everything I’ve used is reclaimed – the metal, the jewels, the beads. But she didn’t ask me and I can’t advertise this fact because people will question my source.

She finds her purse: a tired pink leather that clashes with her hemp bag. “So, how much goes to charity, anyway?” she asks, raising her eyebrows and tilting her head down to me over her money.

All of it.” I answer, trying not to look at the protruding bank notes.

This charity?”

Half to…

View original post 719 more words

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

